Given that the election commission of india (EC) has eliminated nearly 6 lakh fraudulent votes in the hyderabad district, the majority of which are in the constituency, the electoral contest for the hyderabad lok sabha seat in the next General election is expected to witness a significant shift in the number of votes that parties receive.

At a recent news conference, Ronald Ross, the commissioner of hyderabad municipal corporation-Latest Updates, Photos, Videos are a click away, CLICK NOW'>greater hyderabad municipal corporation (GHMC) and the hyderabad District election Officer, revealed to the media that around 6 lakh votes were eliminated from the hyderabad district during the "purification process." This is probably going to affect the outcome of the hyderabad lok sabha seat, which is presently held by asaduddin owaisi, the leader of the All india Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM).

There has always been controversy over the removal of fictitious votes under the hyderabad parliamentary seat. For years, Feroze Khan and other prominent members of the bharatiya janata party (BJP) and congress have been complaining that the AIMIM, which holds seven assembly seats in hyderabad, has been using forged ballots to consistently win elections.

Where votes were deleted in the hyderabad seat
In further detail, there were 60,953 duplicate votes cast in the jubilee hills assembly seat, including 3,101 ballots from deceased voters. 53,012 voters had changed their addresses. The next two assembly seats, Chandrayangutta and Yakutpura, had 59,289 and 48,296 duplicate votes, respectively, that were eliminated.
More significantly, it should be mentioned that five hyderabad district assembly seats—Chandrayangutta, Yakutpura, Nampally, Malakpet, and Bahadurpura—accounted for 2.29 lakh fake votes out of the 5.4 lakh duplicate votes, out of the 15 seats from which bogus or duplicate votes were deleted. The AIMIM holds all four.

The hyderabad lok sabha seat has about 20 lakh voters, based on the 2019 voter list. Between january 2023 and march 2024, officials conducted a purification effort that resulted in the removal of over 2.50 lakh duplicate voters, or almost 12% of all registered voters.
In the hyderabad district, the voter rolls saw the addition of almost 5 lakh new voters within the same time frame. It is an open knowledge, nevertheless, that all political parties attempt to profit from phony votes during elections, as voters in local booths are aware of individuals who move, die away, or otherwise fail to cast a ballot.

It remains to be observed how the elimination of fraudulent votes affects the hyderabad seat in the next telangana assembly election in 2028 as well as the forthcoming lok sabha elections in Hyderabad. Owaisi received 5.17 lakh votes to win the hyderabad seat in the 2019 lok sabha elections. With 2.35 lakh, bjp candidate Dr. Bhagwant Rao retained the second place. With 44% of the total polls recorded, there were 19,57,931 registered voters overall.

Asaduddin Owaisi received 5.13 lakh votes, or 52.94 percent of the total vote, in the 2014 lok sabha elections. The BJP's Bhagwant Rao received 3.11 lakh votes or 32.05 percent of the total. 53 percent of voters cast ballots, and 18,23,217 votes were cast overall for the hyderabad seat. In the 2019 election, female voters were apprehended by the police posing as drivers of autorickshaws and casting ballots at several police stations.

Malakpet, Karwan, Goshamahal, Charminar, Chandrayangutta, Yakutpura, and Bahadurpura are the seven assembly segments that make up the hyderabad seat of telangana state's seventeen parliamentary seats. Scheduled Castes (SCs) and scheduled tribes (STs) are not granted reservations for the hyderabad constituency, which is a general seat.
The primary contenders in the seat are the AIMIM, congress, Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), and bharatiya janata party (BJP). Since 2004, asaduddin owaisi of AIMIM has served as the constituency's representative. The six consecutive elections that his father, sultan Salahuddin Owaisi, won were in 1984, 1989, 1991, 1996, 1998, and 1999. Since 1984, the AIMIM has never lost.



Find out more: