On Monday, a by-election to the telangana Legislative Council will be held from the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda graduates' seat. This constituency, which spans 34 assembly divisions in the undivided districts of warangal, Khammam, and Nalgonda, is home to 4.63 lakh graduates who are entitled to vote.

The indian Election Commission has taken extraordinary efforts to ensure that the polls are conducted peacefully.
The vacancy emerged after Palla Rajeshwar reddy of BRS resigned after being elected to the assembly from the Jangaon seat in the november 2023 elections.
Though there are 52 contenders in the race, the major competition is between congress, Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), and bharatiya janata party (BJP) candidates.
The by-election, which comes soon after the lok sabha elections, is expected to be a tough struggle amongst the leading contenders.

For the ruling congress, it is a prestige struggle in which it is going all out to show that it still has the backing of graduates. Jobs for jobless young was one of the party's main pledges in the assembly elections, and the party attempted to reassure people that it is dedicated to filling two lakh vacancies by the end of 2024.
The ruling congress party, which controls 33 of the 34 MLAs in the graduates' district, is certain of winning the seat from BRS.
It has fielded Chintapandu Naveen, alias Teenmaar Mallanna, who ran as an independent and placed second in the MLC seat poll two years ago.

He is competing in a three-way race alongside Rakesh reddy of BRS and G. Permender reddy of BJP.

Premender reddy finished fourth in the 2021 vote as the bjp candidate.
Interestingly, all of the top candidates were formerly pals in the BJP. Rakesh reddy left the bjp to join BRS just before the assembly elections, after being denied a ticket from the warangal constituency.
Teenmaar Mallanna had also abandoned the bjp to join the congress just before the assembly elections.
Mallanna maintains a YouTube channel that is widely regarded as very critical of BRS chairman kcr and his family. He was detained for allegedly making disrespectful postings and comments about kcr while BRS was in power.

In 2021, telangana Jana Samiti (TJS) president and academician M. Kodandaram ran for this MLC constituency but finished third.
In the recent assembly elections, Kodandaram supported the congress party, which rewarded him by nominating him to the Legislative Council under the Governor's quota.
The party OF INDIA' target='_blank' title='communist party of india-Latest Updates, Photos, Videos are a click away, CLICK NOW'>communist party of india (CPI), the Communist party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), and the TJS have all expressed their support for the congress nominee.
The CPI-M has said that its major goal is to defeat the BJP. The party urged its cadres, followers, and sympathizers to vote for the congress candidate.

Rachakonda police have issued prohibitory orders under Section 144 of the CrPC within the Bhongir Zone of Rachakonda police. Commissionerate from 4 p.m. on May 25 to 4 p.m. on May 26 at distribution centers and from 4 p.m. on May 26 to May 27 at polling stations until the by-elections are completed.
Orders have also been issued to close all liquor shops, hotels, restaurants, clubs, and other places selling/serving booze located inside the Yadadri-Bhuvanagiri zone from 4 p.m. on May 25 to 4 p.m. on May 27.

Find out more: