Another BRS member joined the ruling party on sunday, completing the migration of MLAs from the party to the congress in Telangana. Following his sunday night meeting with chief minister A. revanth Reddy, Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) mla Dr. M. Sanjay Kumar joined the Congress. Sanjay was greeted at the party by the chief minister, who also serves as the President of the state unit. Present were former minister Sudershan Reddy, advisor to the chief minister Vem Narender Reddy, and revenue minister Ponguleti Srinivasa Reddy.

In the elections conducted in november 2023, Sanjay was re-elected from the jagtial assembly constituency in the nizamabad district for a second straight term.
This makes him the fifth BRS mla to change allegiance since congress took office in december of last year.
Pocharam srinivas Reddy, a former assembly speaker and prominent politician, joined the congress two days before to this. srinivas Reddy is a well-known leader from the nizamabad area and a BRS MLA.

In the Assembly's 119 members, the BRS had secured 39 seats. Its current strength is at 33, after the ruling party defeated it in the most recent secunderabad Cantonment by-election.
Following BRS's crushing defeat in last month's lok sabha elections, srinivas Reddy became the first mla to change allegiance. The gathering came up empty. The BRS lost a number of its leaders to the congress and the bjp following the defeat in the assembly elections.


Find out more: