The karnataka government said on monday that the "Shakti" programme, which allows women to ride for free in state-run buses with a few restrictions, including 50% of the seats being reserved for males, will go into effect on june 11. As one of the five electoral assurances that would take effect the day the congress takes office in the state, the congress pledged in its election platform to provide free rides for women in government buses.

The decision specifies that the recipients of the programme must have a karnataka residence. Transgender people can use the 'Shakti' programme as well as women. The participants of this programme are only permitted to use intrastate buses, not interstate buses. The programme does not apply to any luxury buses, including the Rajahamsa, Non-AC sleeper, Vajra, Vayu Vajra, Airavat, Airavat Club Class, Airavat gold Class, Ambari, Ambari Dream Class, Ambari Utsav Fly Bus, and EV Power Plus.

The karnataka State Road Transport Corporation (KSRTC), North West karnataka Road Transport Corporation (NWKRTC), and Kalyana karnataka Road Transport Corporation (KKRTC) buses, according to the government, are eligible for the program's benefits. 50% of the seats in the remaining three state road transport corporations, KSRTC, NWKRTC, and KKRTC, will be allocated for males, with the exception of the BMTC.

మరింత సమాచారం తెలుసుకోండి: