Why Earthquake Occurs: Why do earthquakes happen? Why does the whole earth shake

Why Earthquakes Occur: There are 7 plates inside the earth, which keep on rotating continuously. When these plates move too much, an earthquake is felt.

Earthquake tremors have been felt in North india including delhi NCR on tuesday afternoon. The epicenter of the earthquake was Nepal. Its intensity on the Richter scale has been reported as 5.8. people came out of their homes due to the strong tremors that came at around 2.28 pm. After all, why do earthquakes occur, 

The earth is mainly made up of four layers. The inner core, outer core, mantle, and crust. The crust and the upper mantle core are called the lithosphere. This 50-kilometer thick layer is divided into several sections called tectonic plates. There are 7 plates inside the earth, which keep on rotating continuously. When these plates move too much, an earthquake is felt.

Earthquakes are measured by the Richter scale. This is called the Richter Magnitude Test Scale. Earthquakes are measured on a scale of 1 to 9 on the Richter scale. Earthquake is measured from its center i.e. epicenter. The intensity of the energy that comes out from inside the earth during an earthquake is measured by it. This intensity gives an idea of the magnitude of the earthquake. The intensity of an earthquake is measured by waves of energy emanating from the epicenter. These waves vibrate up to hundreds of kilometers and even cause cracks in the earth.

The epicenter of an earthquake is the place just below which the movement of the plates releases geological energy. Earthquake vibrations are more at this place. As the frequency of vibration goes away, its effect decreases. If there is an earthquake with an intensity of 7 or more on the Richter scale, then the shock is intensified within a radius of 40 km.

The indian plate extends from the himalayas to the Antarctic. It only touches the pakistan border. Geographically, it is to the south of the Himalayas. While the Eurasian Plate is to the north of the Himalayas. The indian plate is moving in the northeast direction towards the Eurasian plate in which china etc. are situated. If these plates collide, then the epicenter of the earthquake will be India.

According to the danger of earthquakes, india has been divided into four zones. Zone II – The South indian region which is least vulnerable. Zone three – is Central india, Zone four – is the Terai region of North india including delhi, and Zone five – the Himalayan region and Northeast region and Kutch. At the same time, zone five has the most dangerous areas.

మరింత సమాచారం తెలుసుకోండి: