Former IAS OP Chaudhary had contested the 2018 assembly elections from Kharsia seat of Raigarh district. He

was defeated by Umesh patel, son of late leader Nandkumar Patel. Umesh patel defeated OP Chaudhary by

16,967 votes.

This is the history of Raigarh seat

Raigarh assembly seat of chhattisgarh has been winning elections alternately between congress and BJP. In the

year 2018, there was a contest between Prakash nayak of congress and Roshanlal of BJP. Voters had expressed

confidence in the congress Party candidate. More than 69 thousand votes were cast in favor of Congress. Prakash

Nayak had managed to win the election by a margin of more than 14 thousand votes. In the year 2013, BJP

candidate roshan Lal had won the elections. He got 91045 votes. Whereas congress candidate Shakrajit Nayak

got 70453 votes. In 2008, congress candidate Dr. Shakrajit nayak had won from Raigarh assembly constituency.

BJP candidate Vijay Aggarwal stood second. This time OP Chaudhary is leading from this seat.

Who is OP Choudhary?

OP Chaudhary was born in Bayang village of Raigarh. He has been an IAS officer of 2005 batch. Chaudhary

became an IAS officer at the age of 23. OP is the first person from his district to become IAS. OP Chaudhary

belongs to Agasia community. Five years ago, he had announced his resignation from IAS job on Facebook. After

that he had announced to devote time for the betterment of his village and people. After leaving the IAS job, he

had written on facebook that in the 13-year journey from the streets of Bayang village to becoming the Collector

of Raipur, life gave me many challenging opportunities. Now I want to devote my entire time for the betterment

of my soil and my people. Therefore, I have resigned from IAS. While being the collector of Dantewada, he had

converted the Naxal affected area into an education hub. Former PM manmohan singh had honored him with the

Prime Minister's Excellence Award in the year 2011-12. He lost the 2018 assembly elections from Kharsia seat of

Chhattisgarh. He is considered close to former cm Raman Singh.

మరింత సమాచారం తెలుసుకోండి: