Lok Sabha elections 2024: google Doodle Celebrates Democracy & Voting

Google Doodle's first-ever creation was an “out of office” message of sorts when company founders Larry and Sergey went on vacation.

Google on friday released a new Doodle dedicated to the upcoming lok sabha elections 2024. The voting for Phase 1 of lok sabha elections kicked off today and, Google Doodle took this opportunity to celebrate freedom and democracy in india by releasing the 'Doodle india National elections 2024'. Polling in India is considered to be a huge event as people have the power to change the whole governance of the nation at their fingertips. Citizens come out of their houses in large numbers to fulfill their duty of being responsible for their nation.

The polling is being conducted in constituencies of several states, including Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, tamil Nadu, andaman and nicobar islands, puducherry, and Jammu and Kashmir, among others. Long queues were witnessed at the polling booths this morning with people patiently awaiting their chance to cast a vote in favour of their chosen political party.

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Phase 1

The lok sabha elections for 2024 have kicked off today, initiating the first phase of voting encompassing 102 seats spread across 21 states and Union Territories. The national democratic alliance (NDA), led by prime minister Narendra Modi, is aiming for a robust mandate to secure a third consecutive term in the Centre. Simultaneously, the opposition coalition under the banner of I.N.D.I.A is endeavoring to regain lost ground following setbacks in the 2014 and 2019 elections.

In this inaugural phase, voting is scheduled across all lok sabha constituencies in tamil Nadu (39), uttarakhand (5), Arunachal Pradesh (2), meghalaya (2), andaman and nicobar islands (1), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1), puducherry (1), sikkim (1), and lakshadweep (1). Additionally, polling booths will be operational for 12 seats in Rajasthan, eight in Uttar Pradesh, six in Madhya Pradesh, five each in assam and Maharashtra, four in Bihar, three in West Bengal, two in Manipur, and one seat each in Tripura, Jammu and Kashmir, and Chhattisgarh.

Of particular significance among the states casting votes is tamil Nadu, where established parties and congress are facing a formidable challenge from a resurgent BJP, led by state chief K Annamalai.

The electoral landscape in this phase features prominent personalities such as union Ministers nitin gadkari and Sarbanand Sonowal, Congress’s Gaurav Gogoi, DMK’s Kanimozhi, and BJP’s K Annamalai. Seven Union Ministers, including Bhupendra Yadav, Kiren Rijiju, sanjeev Baliyan, Jitendra Singh, arjun Ram Meghwal, L Murugan, and Nisith Pramanik, are also vying for victory in this phase.

Find out more: