Obed McCoy Replaces Former Skipper In West Indies' t20 world cup 2024 Squad

T20 world cup 2024: West Indies announce a late replacement for former captain, as Obed McCoy joins the squad for the mega event. Here are the details.

T20World Cup 2024

 West Indies have announced Obed McCoy as a replacement for injured jason holder in the side's squad for the upcoming t20 world cup 2024. The official announcement was made by the International cricket Council (ICC) and cricket west indies (CWI) on Monday, May 27, as Obed McCoy's impressive outing against south africa paid dividends.

West Indies have replaced the experienced jason holder with left-arm fast bowler Obed McCoy. holder will miss the tournament due to an injury. The 32-year-old sustained his injury during the County championship 2024 and will require a recovery period that has effectively ruled him out of the tournament," reported ICC via their official website.

As reported by ICC on Monday, May 27, Desmond Haynes and Daren Sammy had the following to say:

"Jason is an experienced player in our set-up. His absence will undoubtedly be felt both on and off the field. We look forward to having a fully fit Jason with us again soon. While it is unfortunate to lose a player of Jason's caliber, we are confident in the abilities of Obed McCoy. Obed has shown remarkable skill and promise in his performances, and this opportunity will allow him to further showcase his talent on the international stage. We believe he will bring a fresh and dynamic energy to the squad," said Desmond Haynes, Lead Selector of West Indies.

"We are fortunate to have such depth and quality in our ranks. Our reserve players are all A-class talents who have proven their abilities in various formats of the game, but certainly T20. Each one of them is fully capable of slotting into the team seamlessly should the situation arise," said Daren Sammy, Head Coach of West Indies.

Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph (vc), Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, brandon king, Obed McCoy, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd. 

Reserves: Kyle Mayers, Matthew Forde, Fabian Allen, Hayden Walsh, and Andre Fletcher

Find out more: