On Monday, the third government led by prime minister Narendra Modi gave precedence to continuity over coalition dharma by assigning significant cabinet positions to notable ministers from the previous administration, such as Rajnath Singh, amit shah, S jaishankar, and Nirmala Sitharaman. On the other hand, the bjp gave its allies more representation in the council of ministers, perhaps adjusting to the new reality.

Here are key takeaways from cabinet portfolio allocation:
• The new nda administration has not altered the makeup of the cabinet Committee on Security (CCS), with Rajnath Singh, amit shah, Nirmala Sitharaman, and S jaishankar holding the positions of Defence, Home, Finance, and External Affairs, respectively.

bjp leaders jp nadda, shivraj singh chouhan, and manohar lal khattar were among the new faces admitted. jp nadda has been designated as the health portfolio head, while shivraj singh chouhan has been named as the Agriculture Minister. Khattar has been named minister of Power and minister of Housing and Urban Affairs.

• The portfolios of ministers Mansukh Mandaviya, pralhad joshi, Jyotiraditya Scindia, gajendra singh shekhawat and kiren rijiju have been changed. Mandaviya has been assigned to the Ministry of Labour and Employment along with the Ministry of youth Affairs and Sports. pralhad joshi is now the minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution and minister of New and Renewable Energy. Scindia has been given the charge of the Ministry of Communications and the Ministry of Development of the North Eastern Region. gajendra singh shekhawat has been allocated the Ministry of culture and Ministry of Tourism. kiren rijiju is the new Union minister of Parliamentary Affairs and minister of Minority Affairs.

• The Department of Atomic Energy, the Department of Space, and the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions will be under the direction of prime minister Narendra Modi. Additionally, he oversees ministries that have not been assigned to a minister.

sarbananda sonowal (ports, shipping, and waterways), Bhupendra Yadav (environment, forest, and climate change), and virendra kumar (social justice and empowerment) have all been retained by nitin gadkari as ministers of road transport and highways. In addition to his current portfolio of Information and Broadcasting and Electronics, ashwini Vaishnaw is still the minister of Railways, Electronics, and Information Technology.

piyush goyal continues to be the Commerce and industry minister, dharmendra pradhan remains to be Union minister for education and hardeep singh puri has retained the Petroleum and Natural Gas portfolio.

telugu Desam Party's Kinjarapu ram mohan Naidu and Lok Janshakti party (Ram Vilas) chief chirag paswan have been inducted as cabinet ministers with the Civil Aviation and Food Processing industries portfolios respectively.

• Shiv Sena's Jadhav Prataprao Ganpatrao has been made minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Ayush and minister of State in the Ministry of health and Family Welfare. Janata Dal (Secular) leader HD Kumaraswamy, a former chief minister, has been entrusted with the Ministry of Heavy industries and Public Enterprises and the Ministry of Steel.

Find out more: