UP Sees 58.09% Voter Turnout in Phase 4!!!

Uttar Pradesh witnessed an average voter turnout of nearly 58.09 percent in the 13 constituencies that went to polls on monday in the fourth phase of lok sabha elections 2024. Barring a few incidents of scuffle and Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) malfunctioning, the state election commission said polling was concluded peacefully on all the 13 seats – shahjahanpur (SC), Kheeri, Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Hardoi (SC), Mishrikh (SC), unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah (SC), Kannauj, kanpur, Akbarpur and bahraich (SC). As per the data shared by the state election commission, the voter turnout in constituencies was – shahjahanpur (SC) 53.24, Kheeri 64.73, Dhaurahra 61.91, Hardoi (SC) 57.57, Mishrikh (SC) 55.79, unnao 55.44. Farrukhabad 58.97, Etawah (SC) 56.38, Kannauj 61.00 kanpur 53.06. Akbarpur 57.66, bahraich (SC) 57.45 and assembly sub-constituency 136-Dadraul 53.31 percent.

“Polling in all 13 lok sabha Seats went out peacefully. In order to ensure a free and fair voting process, webcasting was arranged at a total of 14,126 polling places, which was supervised at all three levels by the district election Officer, Chief Electoral Officer and election commission of india,” said navdeep Rinwa, State Chief election Officer while addressing the press late on monday evening. Rinwa said that webcasting videography was also arranged at 5,420 polling stations. By categories eligible for postal ballot voting in the fourth phase (such as voters above 85 years of age, Divyangjan, Essential services and Polling Personnel), postal ballots were cast by 35,045 voters.

In the 13 lok sabha seats, the bharatiya janata party (BJP) had repeated 11 sitting MPs and named two new candidates – Ramesh Awasthi from kanpur and anand Kumar from the Bahraich-SC seat. The Samajwadi Party, a key member of the opposition india bloc, had fielded candidates on 11 lok sabha seats in this phase, while the congress had fielded its candidates on two seats – kanpur (Alok Misra) and Sitapur (Rakesh Rathor). Of these seats, the fourth phase of the LS Polls witnessed a high-profile poll battle in two constituencies – Lakhimpur Kheri and Kannauj. The bjp had fielded Union minister Ajay Mishra Teni, whose son is an accused in the 2021 Lakhimpur Kheri violence case, from Kheri. On the Kannauj seat, SP chief akhilesh yadav contested as SP’s candidate.

Find out more: