Geniben Thakor resigns, she is the only congress MP…

Congress leader Geniben Thakor, who won the lok sabha elections from Banaskantha seat in gujarat, has resigned from her mla post. She was an mla from Vav seat in Gujarat. Geniben submitted her resignation to the assembly Speaker on Thursday. Geniben is the only congress lok sabha mp from Gujarat. In the last two elections, congress could not open its account from here and bjp was hoping for a hattrick, which was dashed by Geniben's victory.

Geniben has been a two-time mla from Vav seat. She won the 2017 and 2022 assembly elections from here. She was also given a ticket by congress in 2012 but she had to face defeat. 48-year-old Geniben was defeated by BJP's shankar Chaudhary on this seat in 2012. In the 2022 elections, Genniben got 102,513 votes here while BJP's Swaroop Thakor got 86,912 votes.

Rekhaben defeated in Banaskantha

Genniben was the only congress candidate who won the lok sabha elections in gujarat while all the others lost to bjp candidates. Genniben defeated BJP's Rekhaben Hiteshbhai Chaudhary on the Banaskantha seat. Genniben defeated Rekhaben by 30406 votes. Genniben got 671883 votes on the Banaskantha seat while 641477 votes were cast in favor of Rekhaben. At the same time, BSP stood third on this seat. BSP candidate MM Parmar had to face a big defeat here. Only 9929 votes were cast in his favor.

Genniben has been in the news due to these issues

Genniben has been in the news since the results of the lok sabha elections. She also remains in the news due to her statements and her stand on any issue. In 2019, she supported the decision of the Thakor community that unmarried girls of the community should be banned from using phones. Genniben had said that there is nothing wrong in banning the use of mobile phones because girls should focus on studies instead of technology. In 2023, she demanded amendment in the Registration of marriage Act 2009.

Find out more: